Hoy es martes

6 Jul

A pretty regular day here in Madrid.

I did notice this art project on a cork board in the cousins’ house and was very intrigued.  I know I read (or at least partly read) La vida es sueño at some point in school but am still trying to work out why an excerpt from the play would make an appearance on a 4-year old’s coloring page.  I remember that Calderón was deeply religious and that La vida es sueño (Life is a Dream) refers to the ephemeral character of life on earth.  Perhaps the cousins made this in Sunday School?  (not sure if Sunday School exists here in Spain).

Ah ha! Look what I spotted...

Regardless, I was pleased that I recognized the text.  Surely this is the reason you pay loads of money for a top-notch education…?  To later vaguely recognize classic literature when it shows up in art projects and the like…

Leave a Reply

