Please and Thank You

7 Apr

Around our house with the three small beans, we talk quite a bit about minding our manners.  Constantly hearing myself insist on the word “gracias” made me think all the things for which I am so, so thankful.  And today I compiled a list of things that I am grateful for this week.

So, here they are (in no particular order):

1.  Really good reads.

The trip to the beach a few weeks ago inspired me to crack open a book (Cutting for Stone) after taking a long hiatus from literature (unless we can count Diez Minutos as literature).  Currently I am tearing my way through The Help; I nearly missed my metro stop this morning I was so engrossed in the story!  Next up on the docket is White Teeth.

I know I will have to make another trip to the adorable used bookstore (stocked with English works) in Nerja during Semana Santa to pick up a few more paperbacks (and trade in the small collection I have accumulated).

Novels stacked on my narrow bookshelf.

2.  The sunshine in Madrid.

The weather forecast for the city.

Our street, drenched in sunlight.

The Ayuntamiento de Pozuelo de Alarcón.

3.  An over-the-top care package.

My parents sent us an enormous box stuffed, and I mean stuffed, full of art supplies, coloring books, dress-up clothes, toy cars, and stickers–essentially a package filled with everything that the three beans love!

Our box of treasures.

And my family did not forget about me–I was thrilled to receive a copy of Elle, sweet Easter treats, and a brand new Lululemon headband, courtesy of my Auntie Monica (that I am wearing as I type)!

And a few of my favorite American treats.

4.  The infamous beans.

The beans and their presents earlier tonight!

Almu was gifted a princess costume, Santi a car that talks and zooms around, and Inés a lip gloss phone.

Checking out the lip gloss phone. Almu's first question was, "is it a real phone?" I had to inform her that my mother evidently decided against buying the three-year-old an actual cellular phone...

Santi, applying Almu's lip gloss.

Almu, grabbing the cell phone.

And "taking some photos" of me.

Inés, cradling her new gadget.

And examining the buttons.

Santi, Almu, and the new yellow car.

Yes, I will be the first person to  admit that sometimes we have rough days–but the majority of the time the three beans are very sweet, well-behaved children.

5.  New music.

We all get tired of our music now and then but I heard this song a few days ago and I think it could freshen up any hum-drum playlist.

Leave a Reply

